Review:Into The Darkest by Kate Hewitt

Posted 4 March, 2021 by Molly(Cover To Cover Cafe) in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Review:Into The Darkest by Kate Hewitt
Title: Into the Darkest Day
Author: Kate Hewitt
Published by Bookouture
Date Published: 14 May, 2020
Pages: 350
Genres: Historical Fiction
Format: eBook ARC
Source: NetGalley, Bookouture
Purchase: Amazon
Add To Goodreads
Rating:

She had to step outside and hold the paper up to the moonlight to read it, but when she was able to make out the words, her heart felt as if it would drop right out of her chest. Because the message was in German.

1944, London:When Lily meets enigmatic GI Matthew in war-torn London, she doesn’t expect to fall in love. While her sister starts a reckless affair with another GI, Lily tries to hide her growing feelings for Matthew.

But Matthew has a devastating secret. One that could change their lives forever.
Present day, USA:Abby lives a quiet life on an apple farm in Wisconsin. Tormented by survivor’s guilt after the tragic deaths of her mother and brother, Abby leaves the orchards as little as possible, keeping her life small, peaceful and safe… Until she is contacted by Englishman Simon Elliot, who arrives nursing a heartbreak of his own, and bearing a World War Two medal that he claims belonged to Abby’s grandfather.
Together they begin to piece together the heartbreaking story of their relatives’ war. But as the story brings Abby and Simon closer—tentatively beginning to lean on one another to heal—they uncover a dark secret from the past.

And like Lily and Matthew nearly eighty years before them, it will make Abby and Simon question whether you can ever truly trust someone, even when they have your heart…

A heartbreakingly powerful, epic love story about courage, friendship and broken trusts, Into the Darkest Day is an unforgettable story perfect for fans of Nora Roberts, Kristin Hannah and The Notebook.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Author/NetGalley, Bookouture and was under no obligation to post a review, positive or negative.

My Thoughts
I don’t often like dual timelines but this one….this one just blew me away. I absolutely fell in love with the story line, the characters, the writing style. Every single bit of this book was phenomenal.

I loved the way the author vividly portrayed the WWII era. It truly came to life for me. I felt every single raw emotion that these beautiful characters felt. The pain, the love, the intensity that feels each page is truly soul capturing.

If you love history, if you love attention to detail, if you love beautifully created characters then look no further than this captivating novel. This author’s work is some I won’t soon forget. I will be recommending this one with 4 stars and two thumbs up!

About Kate Hewitt

Kate is the USA Today-bsetselling author of many books of both historical and contemporary fiction. Under the name Katharine Swartz, she is the author of the Tales from Goswell books, a series of time-slip novels set in the village of Goswell.

She likes to read women’s fiction, mystery and thrillers, as well as historical novels. She particularly enjoys reading about well-drawn characters and avoids high-concept plots.

Having lived in both New York City and a tiny village on the windswept northwest coast of England, she now resides in a market town in Wales with her husband, five children, and two Golden Retrievers.

Tags: ,

Divider

Cover To Cover Cafe Loves Comments!