Book Review: Girl A by Abigail Dean

Posted 29 March, 2021 by Molly(Cover To Cover Cafe) in Book Reviews / 3 Comments

Book Review: Girl A by Abigail Dean
Title: Girl A
Author: Abigail Dean
Published by Viking
Date Published: 21 January, 2021
Pages: 352
Format: Hardcover
Source: Book Of The Month
Purchase: Amazon
Add To Goodreads
Rating:

For readers of Room and Sharp Objects, a propulsive and psychologically immersive novel about a young girl who escapes captivity--but not the secrets that shadow the rest of her life.

"'Girl A, ' she said. 'The girl who escaped. If anyone was going to make it, it was going to be you.'"

Lex Gracie doesn't want to think about her family. She doesn't want to think about growing up in her parents' House of Horrors. And she doesn't want to think about her identity as Girl A: the girl who escaped, the eldest sister who freed her older brother and four younger siblings. It's been easy enough to avoid her parents--her father never made it out of the House of Horrors he created, and her mother spent the rest of her life behind bars. But when her mother dies in prison and leaves Lex and her siblings the family home, she can't run from her past any longer. Together with her sister, Evie, Lex intends to turn the House of Horrors into a force for good. But first she must come to terms with her siblings - and with the childhood they shared.

What begins as a propulsive tale of escape and survival becomes a gripping psychological family story about the shifting alliances and betrayals of sibling relationships--about the secrets our siblings keep, from themselves and each other. Who have each of these siblings become? How do their memories defy or galvanize Lex's own? As Lex pins each sibling down to agree to her family's final act, she discovers how potent the spell of their shared family mythology is, and who among them remains in its thrall and who has truly broken free.

My Thoughts
When I got this one in the mail from BOTM, I jumped right into it. It was page turning and every bit the psychological thriller that it’s labeled as! I was glad to have given it the chance! Reading this book made me want to turn back time, bundle my kiddos into a bubble and never let them go, especially since my own child went through a horrific ordeal himself at the hands of his former stepmother. I definitely think that if you didn’t get this one with BOTM and want to read a novel by a talented author, you grab this 3.5 star read up. Be prepared to stay hooked until the end, needing to feel the emotions that thrown to the reader. Be prepared to experience every twist, every horror, every thought that is within the covers of Girl A.

About Abigail Dean

Abigail Dean was born in Manchester, and grew up in the Peak District. She graduated from Cambridge with a Double First in English. Formerly a Waterstones bookseller, she spent five years as a lawyer in London, and took summer 2018 off to work on her debut novel, Girl A, ahead of her thirtieth birthday. She now works as a lawyer for Google, and is currently writing her second novel, The Conspiracies.

Girl A sold in the UK after a 9-way auction, and also sold at auction in the US. The novel has since been acquired in 27 other territories, and television/film rights have sold to Sony. Johan Renck, director of Chernobyl, is attached to work on the television adaptation of Girl A.

Abigail has always loved reading, writing, and talking about books.

Tags: , ,

Divider

3 responses to “Book Review: Girl A by Abigail Dean

  1. Sara Strand

    I’ve been so wishy washy on this one, I just keep waiting for my library to just have a copy available.

Leave a Reply to Sara Strand Cancel reply