Book Review: The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa De La Cruz

Posted 4 February, 2020 by Molly(Cover To Cover Cafe) in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Book Review: The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa De La Cruz
Title: The Queen's Assassin
Author: Melissa de la Cruz
Published by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
Series: The Queen's Secret #1
Date Published: 4 February, 2020
Pages: 384
Genres: Fantasy
Format: ARC
Source: Publisher
Purchase: Page158 Books
Add To Goodreads
Rating:

Caledon Holt is the Kingdom of Renovia's deadliest weapon. No one alive can best him in brawn or brains, which is why he's the Guild's most dangerous member and the Queen's one and only assassin. He's also bound to the Queen by an impossible vow--to find the missing Deian Scrolls, the fount of all magical history and knowledge, stolen years ago by a nefarious sect called the Aphrasians.

Shadow has been training all her life to follow in the footsteps of her mother and aunts--to become skilled enough to join the ranks of the Guild. Though magic has been forbidden since the Aphrasian uprising, Shadow has been learning to control her powers in secret, hoping that one day she'll become an assassin as feared and revered as Caledon Holt.
When a surprise attack brings Shadow and Cal together, they're forced to team up as assassin and apprentice to hunt down a new sinister threat to Renovia. But as Cal and Shadow grow closer, they'll uncover a shocking web of lies and secrets that may destroy everything they hold dear. With war on the horizon and true love at risk, they'll stop at nothing to protect each other and their kingdom in this stunning first novel in the Queen's Secret series.

Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen, this is the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect from #1 NYT bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Author/Publisher and was under no obligation to post a review, positive or negative.

My Thoughts
It’s been quite sometime since I read a De La Cruz novel. The one’s I’ve read in the past, have been captivating and beautifully written. So, I was excited about today’s release of The Queen’s Assassin and I couldn’t wait to read it. I wasn’t disappointed when I read it, that’s for sure!
This beautifully written YA fantasy novel is filled with a wonderful plot line. Shadow and Caledon are magnificent characters. I loved their interactions and seeing their feelings shine within the pages. The depth that De La Cruz chisels them is awesome and I felt like I was walking along side them on this magical ride.
If you are looking for a superbly written YA novel by a seasoned author, then look no further. You get a magical roller coaster ride of ups and downs. You get to see a budding romance between flaw filled characters. You get to see perfectly chiseled secondary characters and experience an ending that will leave you ready instantly for book 2. I highly recommend this to all!

About Melissa de la Cruz

Melissa de la Cruz is the New York Times and USA Today best-selling author of many critically acclaimed and award-winning novels for teens including The Au Pairs series, the Blue Bloods series, the Ashleys series, the Angels on Sunset Boulevard series and the semi-autobiographical novel Fresh off the Boat.

Her books for adults include the novel Cat’s Meow, the anthology Girls Who Like Boys Who Like Boys and the tongue-in-chic handbooks How to Become Famous in Two Weeks or Less and The Fashionista Files: Adventures in Four-inch heels and Faux-Pas.

She has worked as a fashion and beauty editor and has written for many publications including The New York Times, Marie Claire, Harper’s Bazaar, Glamour, Cosmopolitan, Allure, The San Francisco Chronicle, McSweeney’s, Teen Vogue, CosmoGirl! and Seventeen. She has also appeared as an expert on fashion, trends and fame for CNN, E! and FoxNews.

Melissa grew up in Manila and moved to San Francisco with her family, where she graduated high school salutatorian from The Convent of the Sacred Heart. She majored in art history and English at Columbia University (and minored in nightclubs and shopping!).

She now divides her time between New York and Los Angeles, where she lives in the Hollywood Hills with her husband and daughter.

Tags:

Divider

Cover To Cover Cafe Loves Comments!