Review: The Favorite Daughter by Kaira Rouda

Posted 9 October, 2019 by Molly(Cover To Cover Cafe) in 2019 Reads / 0 Comments

Review: The Favorite Daughter by Kaira Rouda
Title: The Favorite Daughter
Author: Kaira Rouda
Published by Graydon House
Date Published: 21 May, 2019
Pages: 368
Genres: Psychological Thriller
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley, Graydon House Books
Purchase: Amazon
Add To Goodreads
Rating: four-stars

From the author of the page-turning domestic suspense Best Day Ever, comes another gripping novel of psychological suspense set in an upscale Southern California community, for fans of B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena.

The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie.

Jane Harris lives in a sparkling home in an oceanfront gated community in Orange County. It’s a place that seems too beautiful to be touched by sadness. But exactly one year ago, Jane’s oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident and Jane has been grief-stricken ever since. Lost in a haze of anti-depressants, she’s barely even left the house. Now that’s all about to change.

It’s time for Jane to reclaim her life and her family. Jane’s husband, David, has planned a memorial service for Mary and three days later, their youngest daughter, Betsy, graduates high school. Yet as Jane reemerges into the world, it’s clear her family has changed without her. Her husband has been working long days—and nights—at the office. Her daughter seems distant, even secretive. And her beloved Mary was always such a good girl—dutiful and loving. But does someone know more about Mary, and about her last day, than they’ve revealed?

The bonds between mothers and daughters, and husbands and wives should never be broken. But you never know how far someone will go to keep a family together…

I received a complimentary copy of this book from NetGalley, Graydon House Books and was under no obligation to post a review, positive or negative.
My Thoughts
Holy crap! This was one WILD ride! A psychological thriller at it’s best, Rouda takes her reader on an unending roller coaster of emotions, twists and turns. This had your narcissist, your “who-dun-it’s”, and your ending that will leave you on the edge of your seat, wondering what the heck you just finished reading.
Rouda did a magnificent job creating this plot line. She chiseled Jane, Mary, Betsy and David perfectly. The lies, the suspense, the family issues…..all of it was phenomenal. Jane’s narcissistic thinking was intensely gripping. Each page turn brought me closer to the edge of my seat, needing to know what happened to Jane’s daughter Mary, why things just didn’t seem like they should.
If you are looking for an awesomely written novel that will suck you in, grip you completely and twist your heart up all while taking your breath away with thrilling intensity, then this is a 4 star novel for you. Rouda hooked me from the start with this one and I am looking forward to reading another amazing story from her! Hats off to you, Kaira Rouda! Hats off!

About Kaira Rouda

Kaira Sturdivant Rouda is an accomplished business leader, entrepreneur, national speaker and internationally bestselling and award-winning author. A former magazine editor, and society columnist, Kaira won the Stevie Award for Women in Business for creating the first female-focused residential real estate brand, Real Living, and growing the brand to more than 22 states before its sale to Berkshire Hathaway. Her first book, Real You Incorporated: 8 Essentials for Women Entrepreneurs, led to a national speaking tour where she inspired thousands. Turning to a full-time writing career, her most recent works are Best Day Ever and The Favorite Daughter (releasing in May 2019). Active in the areas of homelessness, food security, and empowering women and girls, in her twenties, as a volunteer, she created the first walk-in emergency shelter for homeless families in Central Ohio. Kaira has received numerous awards for her community service, including the national Kiwanis Service to Mankind Award, among many others. She lives in Southern California with her husband, Congressman Harley Rouda, and her four twenty-something children.

Tags: ,

Divider

Cover To Cover Cafe Loves Comments!