ARC Review: Of Fire And Lions by Mesu Andrews

Posted 5 March, 2019 by Molly(Cover To Cover Cafe) in 2019 Reads, Book Reviews / 2 Comments

ARC Review: Of Fire And Lions by Mesu Andrews
Title: Of Fire and Lions
Author: Mesu Andrews
Published by Waterbrook Press
Date Published:5 March, 2019
Pages: 400
Genres: Christian Fiction, Biblical Fiction
Format: ARC
Source: Waterbrook & Multnomah
Purchase: Amazon~ B&N~ Walmart
Add To Goodreads
Rating: 5 Stars

The Old Testament book of Daniel comes to life in this novel for readers of Lynn Austin's Chronicles of the Kings series or Francine Rivers' Mark of the Lion series.

Survival. A Hebrew girl first tasted it when she escaped death nearly seventy years ago as the Babylonians ransacked Jerusalem and took their finest as captives. She thought she'd perfected in the many years amongst the Magoi and the idol worshippers, pretending with all the others in King Nebuchadnezzar's court. Now, as Daniel's wife and a septuagenarian matriarch, Belili thinks she's safe and she can live out her days in Babylon without fear--until the night Daniel is escorted to Belshazzar's palace to interpret mysterious handwriting on a wall. The Persian Army invades, and Bellili's tightly-wound secrets unfurl with the arrival of the conquering army. What will the reign of Darius mean for Daniel, a man who prays to Yahweh alone? Ultimately, Yahweh's sovereign hand guides Jerusalem's captives, and the frightened Hebrew girl is transformed into a confident woman, who realizes her need of the God who conquers both fire and lions.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from Waterbrook & Multnomah and was under no obligation to post a review, positive or negative.

You all remember sitting in the Sunday school rooms growing up and hearing the tales of young Daniel and the Lion’s Den? Or what about the story of Meshach, Shadrach, and Adednego? I definitely do! Mesu Andrews has taken those stories straight from the Old Testament and weaved them with the perfect amount of fiction, to make the story come to life and play out like a movie on the big screen.

I loved learning more about Daniel and his life. It wasn’t an easy life, that’s for sure! Andrews tips the scales with his story. It takes places during Babylonian times, and the garb that was worn then is richly detailed, so I could envision the way the people may have been then. The words that were used during that time are beautifully portrayed in this story. The action of the times, Daniel being thrown in the lion’s den, the furnace of fire, all of it is intricately woven together to tell the tale of having a faith the size of a tiny seed in the Almighty God, and how it can bring you through anything.

I loved how Andrews told this book in parts. It really helped to fully feel  the emotions, see the different times, know what was happening. The research that is put into this story is richly evident. Her passion for her characters and story is felt through out the book.

This is most definitely worthy of 5 stars. If you are one who may have trouble understanding the stories of the Bible, then I highly recommend you pick up a copy of Andrews’ Old Testament story of Daniel. Her unique penning of The Lion’s Den will have you understanding things in a whole new like, allowing you become Daniel for a time. Your faith in God will be strong by the end of this book, and it will leaving you wanting more. Mesu Andrews, wonderful job on your story of faith and hope and trust in God! I can’t wait for you to write another amazing novel!

About Mesu Andrews

Mesu Andrews’ deep understanding of and love for God’s Word brings the biblical world alive for her readers. She and her husband, Roy, enjoyed fourteen years of pastoral ministry before moving to the Pacific Northwest, where Roy now serves as Academic Dean at Multnomah Biblical Seminary. Mesu writes full-time, snuggled in her recliner beside a cozy fire on rainy Northwest days. The Andrews’ enjoy visiting their two married daughters and a growing tribe of grandkids. Mesu loves movies, football, waterfalls, and travel.

Biblical fiction is her favorite genre to read and write. Her first novel, Love Amid the Ashes (Revell, 2011), won the 2012 ECPA Book of the Year for a Debut Author. Love’s Sacred Song (Revell, 2012), the Song of Solomon in story form, received a 4 ½ star rating from RT Reviews. And Love in a Broken Vessel (Revell, 2013), the story of Hosea and Gomer, received a 4 ½ star TOP PICK rating from RT Reviews. The Shadow of Jezebel releases March 4, 2014.

Tags:

Divider

2 responses to “ARC Review: Of Fire And Lions by Mesu Andrews

Cover To Cover Cafe Loves Comments!