Review: Through The Autumn Air by Kelly Irvin

Posted 12 October, 2018 by Molly(Cover To Cover Cafe) in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

Title: Through Autumn Air
Series: Every Amish Season #3
Publisher: Zondervan
Publish Date: August 14, 2018
ISBN: 978-0310348146
Source: Publisher
Pages: 368
Purchase: Amazon ~ CBD ~ B&N

The past filled her mind even as her heart yearned for stories yet to be told . . .

The mother of ten and a widow of seven years, Mary Katherine is a bundle of energy, always willing to step in and help her friends around her Amish community. Now that her last child is married, she pours her abundant creative spirit into writing stories, even as she speaks aloud to her late husband every day. Her dream is to open a bookstore with an English friend, but the church elders want this wayward widow to work in an Amish-owned store instead. When her old school friend, Ezekiel, offers her a position as a cook in the restaurant he opened after his wife died, she knows she should accept. But does she really want to spend her time working over a hot stove?

When a mysterious English stranger breaks into her house to make himself a sandwich one autumn night, Mary Katherine doesn’t call the sheriff. She turns to Ezekiel. They both see that Burke is need of more than a meal, and Ezekiel offers him the job at the restaurant.

As they set out to care for their new friend, Mary Katherine and Ezekiel find themselves often working together. Mary Katherine is drawn to Ezekiel, but she remembers the terrible risk of giving her heart to someone. Can two people in the autumns of their lives and so well-versed in the pain of loss put the past behind them and trust in the hope that comes with each new season?


Add To GoodReads
Add To BookBub

My Thoughts
I am a huge fan of Amish fiction, in case you hadn’t already guessed that. So, I was thrilled to jump at the chance to review this new Amish novel from the talented hands of Ms. Irvin. Her books always capture me, with her heartwarming, Godly messages and her fun loving characters. Each book is carefully thought out and beautifully chiseled so her fans can enjoy more of her work each time. This book, in particular, is a little different for me…..this one is written about characters who aren’t young and in love for the first time. Loved that!

Mary Katherine is a beautiful soul, and Ezekiel is a tender hearted Amish man who shows grace and mercy to all he meets. Burke’s English character was the added touch to this beautiful, moving story of letting go of the past, and moving on to the future. The setting is gorgeous and really made me want to snuggle up in a cozy recliner with an afghan and cup of hot tea. These beautiful characters will make you smile, make you think, and make you happy to be a part of their world!

This is a 5 star worthy novel. Ms. Irvin’s characters and plot line will have you hungry for more. She weaves magic into her story lines and produces more than just a book. She gives her readers hope and joy. That’s a fantastic thing! I definitely recommend this book to all who are looking for a beautiful Amish story this Fall. It will definitely make you a fan of this talented author!

*I received a complimentary copy of this book from Publisher and was under no obligation to post a review, positive or negative.*

About The Author

Kelly Irvin is the author of more than a dozen Amish books. Her latest series I Every Amish Season, featuring recently released Through the Autumn Air as well as Beneath the Summer Sun. The first book in the series, Upon a Spring Breeze, won the 2018 Readers Choice Award from the Faith, Hope, and Love Chapter of Romance Writers of America in the long contemporary romance category. The series is published by Zondervan/HarperCollins Christian Publishing.

She is also the author of the Amish of Bee County series that includes The Saddle Maker’s Son,  The Bishop’s Son and The Beekeeper’s Son. This last novel received a starred review from Publisher’s Weekly, calling it “a delicately woven masterpiece.” The Beekeeper’s Son was a finalist in the national 2016 ACFW Carol Awards Contest in the romance category.  Kelly is also the author of the Bliss Creek Amish series and the New Hope Amish series, both from Harvest House. She has also penned two romantic suspense novels, A Deadly Wilderness and No Child of Mine.

Among her other works are novellas in four collections, including  An Amish Christmas Gift (Snow Angels),  An Amish Market (Sweeter than Honey), An Amish Heirloom (The Midwife’s Dream), and An Amish Summer (One Sweet Kiss)

Kelly’s novelLove Redeemed, was a 2015 finalist in the American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) Carol Awards contest.

Kelly is also the author of Tell Her No Lies, a romantic suspense novel that releases in November from Thomas Nelson Publishing. Publishers Weekly called her first romantic suspense novel, A Deadly Wilderness, “a solid romantic suspense debut.” She followed up with No Child of Mind. She worked as a newspaper reporter for six years writing stories on the Texas-Mexico border. Those experiences fuel her romantic suspense novels set in Texas.

The Kansas native is a graduate of the University of Kansas School of Journalism. She has been writing nonfiction professionally for more than thirty years, including ten years as a newspaper reporter. She retired in 2016 after working 22 years in public relations for the City of San Antonio Parks and Recreation Department. She is a member of ACFW and Alamo City Christian Fiction Writers. In her spare time, she blogs, reads fiction, and loves her family.

Website ~ Facebook ~ Twitter




Cover To Cover Cafe Loves Comments!